Source: African Union
The African Union was established on the 9th of July 2002, except Morocco, all the fifty three African countries are members, the African Union was formed to succed to the Organisation of African Unity (OUA). The African Union headquarter is based in Addis Ababa in Ethiopia.


The vision of the African  Union is that of: “An integrated, prosperous and peaceful Africa,  driven by its own citizens and representing a dynamic force in  global arena.”

The objectives of the African Uinon are:

The Organs of the AU

The Assembly
Composed of Heads of  State and Government or their duly accredited representatives. The Assembly of  Heads of State and Government is the supreme organ of the Union.

The Executive Council
Composed of Ministers or  Authorities designated by the Governments of Members States. The Executive  Council is responsible to the Assembly. 

The Commission
Composed of the Chairperson, the Deputy Chairperson, eight Commissioners and  Staff members; Each Commissioner shall be responsible for a portfolio.

The Permanent Representatives' Committee

Composed of Permanent Representatives of Member States accredited to the Union.  The Permanent Representatives Committee is charged with the responsibility of  preparing the work of the Executive Council.

Peace and Security Council (PSC)

By decision AHG/Dec 160 (xxxvii) of the Summit of Lusaka, July 2001, a decision  was made for the creation within the African Union of the Peace and Security  Council. The Protocol establishing the PSC is in the process of ratification.

Pan-African  Parliament
A Pan-African Parliament, and organ to ensure the full participation of African  peoples in governance, development and economic integration of the Continent.  The protocol relating to the composition, powers, functions and organization of  the Pan-African Parliament has been signed by Member States and is in the  process of ratification

The Economic, Social and Cultural Council, an advisory organ composed of  different social and professional groups of the Member States of the Union. The  statutes determining the functions, powers, composition and organization of the  Economic, Social and Cultural Council have been prepared and will be submitted  to Maputo Summit.

The  Court of Justice
A Court of Justice of the Union shall be established. The statutes defining the  composition and functions of the Court of Justice have been prepared and will  be submitted to the Assembly in Maputo.

The  Specialized Technical Committees
The following Specialized Technical Committees are meant to address sectoral  issues and are at Ministerial Level:  

The Financial Institutions

For more information about the African Union, please visit the AU website